The John Jay French house, built in 1845, is one of the oldest surviving houses in Beaumont. It is also one of the first houses in Beaumont built with two stories, using milled lumber. The John Jay French Museum demonstrates the life of a prosperous Texas pioneer family from 1845-1865. The historic pioneer settlement, built by John Jay French, tanner and merchant, is filled with antique furnishings, clothing and pioneer household utensils. Outbuildings on the grounds include a blacksmith shop, tannery, privy and smokehouse.
Hours: Tues. - Fri. 10:00 am - 3:00 pm; Sat. 10:00 am – 2:00 pm.
Admission: $1 to $3.
The John Jay French Museum celebrates a mid-19th century holiday season with fresh greenery, candles, and music evoking the old-fashioned Christmas spirit. Enjoy a self-guided tour through the French home and grounds, then head to Heritage Hall for ... View More Details
Camp Lookinback is a fun and educational four-day summer camp held on the grounds of the historic John Jay French Museum. Children, ages 6-11, experience another time in Texas history while in a safe and enriching environment. Hands-on activ... View More Details